What it welds
The AHP AlphaTIG 203Xi AC/DC TIG Welder is an AC/DC TIG on 220-volt input; its listing doesn't state an output range, so check the rating plate.
The listing doesn't give a duty cycle with its amperage, which makes long beads hard to plan; the rating plate or manual should state it. Why it matters.
Processes, per the maker: Tig/Stick. Check which torches and guns come in the box; a TIG torch or spool gun is often extra. Process guide.
It's AC/DC, so it can weld aluminium as well as steel and stainless. Pulse: Pulse.
It needs a 240-volt circuit; have a licensed electrician install the receptacle the manual specifies. 120 V vs 240 V.
Eye protection: OSHA's minimum is shade 8 for most of this machine's range (shade 10 for stick above 160 A). Full table.
Also on the listing: dimensions of 19 x 23 x 12 inches and a weight of 69 lb.
Is it the right machine for the job?
Buy it for
- Aluminium and thin metal
Skip it for
What it does well, where it falls short
Does well
- AC/DC for aluminium
- Pulse: Pulse
Falls short
- Duty cycle not stated with amps
- Needs a 240 V circuit
- Output range not stated
Power and setup notes
- Ratings are the maker's own, stated under the maker's conditions. Follow the manual, wear eye protection of at least OSHA's minimum shade, keep combustibles away, ventilate, and have a licensed electrician install new circuits.
Rated output and specs
Every figure below comes from the source shown in brackets. Where the maker doesn't state something, we say so instead of estimating.
| Model number | AlphaTIG 203Xi | Retailer |
|---|---|---|
| Product weight | 69 lb | Retailer |
| Dimensions (seller) | 19 x 23 x 12 inches | Retailer |
| Material | Stainless Steel | Retailer |
| Power | ac | Retailer |
| Input power | 110/220 volts | Retailer |
| Processes | Tig/Stick | Retailer |
| AC / DC | DC Tig | Retailer |
| Pulse | Pulse | Retailer |
Machines to put next to it
Other tig welders in the same amp range
Final verdict
A match for aluminium and thin metal.
Where to buy
Our links open this exact model's product page. Prices and stock change; check what's included before you order.
Each button opens this exact model. We may earn a commission on tracked links; it never changes what we publish. Disclosure



