MIG / gas · Hobart

Hobart 140EZ MIG Welder

MIG / gas, up to 140 A, 120 V

Updated October 2026

Quick verdict

Built for clean steel welds indoors.

Strength
Up to 140 A output.
Trade-off
Duty cycle not stated with amps.
Right buyer
Clean steel welds indoors.
Processes
Flux-Core, Spool Gun
Output range
30-140a
Input power
120v
Max steel (maker)
up to 3/16 inch
Spool gun
Spool Gun Ready
Dimensions (seller)
24 x 18.5 x 12.5 inches
Prices change often; the button shows today's price.

Each button opens this exact model. We may earn a commission on tracked links; it never changes what we publish. Disclosure

What it welds

The Hobart 140EZ MIG Welder is a MIG / gas with a maker-stated output of 30 to 140 amps on 120-volt input.

Miller's starting rule, 1 amp for each 0.001 inch of steel, puts 140 amps at roughly 0.140 in of steel in one pass; thicker work means bevels and more passes. Run the amperage selector.

The maker's thickness claim reads "up to 3/16 inch". Makers often mean multiple passes or flux-core wire when a claim runs past the amps rule; the wording here says which.

The listing doesn't give a duty cycle with its amperage, which makes long beads hard to plan; the rating plate or manual should state it. Why it matters.

Processes, per the maker: Flux-Core, Spool Gun. Most multi-process machines' TIG is DC lift-arc, so no aluminium unless AC is stated. Choosing a process.

It runs solid wire under shielding gas for the cleanest wire-feed welds; most machines like it also run flux-core wire outdoors.

Household 120-volt power caps its output; check the circuit size the manual asks for. What input voltage changes.

Use a lens of at least OSHA's minimum shade for the current: shade 10 or darker for typical MIG work here. Shade chart.

Also on the listing: dimensions of 24 x 18.5 x 12.5 inches and a weight of 55.9 lb.

Warranty, per the listing: Hobart 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty - Five-year warranty on transformers, stabilizers and main rectifiers; three years on generators, PC boards and drive systems; and one year on guns (MIG, plasma and TIG torches).

Is it the right machine for the job?

Buy it for

  • Clean steel welds indoors
  • Sheet metal to about 0.140 in

Skip it for

  • Steel much past 0.140 in in one pass

What it does well, where it falls short

Does well

  • Up to 140 A output
  • Runs on household 120 V

Falls short

  • Duty cycle not stated with amps
  • 120 V caps output

Power and setup notes

  • Ratings are the maker's own, stated under the maker's conditions. Follow the manual, wear eye protection of at least OSHA's minimum shade, keep combustibles away, ventilate, and have a licensed electrician install new circuits.

Rated output and specs

Every figure below comes from the source shown in brackets. Where the maker doesn't state something, we say so instead of estimating.

Model number140EZRetailer
Product weight55.9 lbRetailer
Dimensions (seller)24 x 18.5 x 12.5 inchesRetailer
PowerdcRetailer
WarrantyHobart 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty - Five-year warranty on transformers, stabilizers and main rectifiers; three years on generators, PC boards and drive systems; and one year on guns (MIG, plasma and TIG torches).Retailer
Output range30-140aRetailer
Input power120vRetailer
Max steel (maker)up to 3/16 inchRetailer
ProcessesFlux-Core, Spool GunRetailer
Spool gunSpool Gun ReadyRetailer

Machines to put next to it

Other mig and flux-core welders in the same amp range

Every mig and flux-core welders on one spec sheet · All Hobart machines listed

Final verdict

Built for clean steel welds indoors.

Where to buy

Our links open this exact model's product page. Prices and stock change; check what's included before you order.

Prices change often; the button shows today's price.

Each button opens this exact model. We may earn a commission on tracked links; it never changes what we publish. Disclosure

Questions buyers ask

How thick can the Hobart 140EZ MIG Welder weld?
The maker states "up to 3/16 inch". By Miller's 1 A per 0.001 in rule its 140 A top output reaches about 0.140 in in one pass.
What is the Hobart 140EZ MIG Welder's duty cycle?
The listing doesn't state it with an amperage; check the rating plate or manual.
What power does the Hobart 140EZ MIG Welder need?
120 volts per the maker; the manual states the circuit and plug.